Getting Organized

I have always been obsessed with paper. I don’t know what it is about a stack of clean sheets or a new notebook. Sometimes it takes me days, even weeks to start filling it in. Maybe it’s because I want to fill it with something special or meaningful and I have to wait for something to happen that is worthy of filling its pages. Maybe it’s the idea of what a special notebook means – that you have something important to say, to do!

I have tried many notebooks and binders over the years. Spirals, Composition books (ala Harriet the Spy), Trapper Keepers, and even hand cut and stapled notepads. I would never start a new school year with out a 5 subject FiveStar First Gear notebook from Mead. I was convinced this would make or break my year even in college. I had day planners too – those were my favorite; but I never had anything significant to put in them. I was too young to have that much going on that I needed to be that organized. Then I discovered Moleskines. I love them. They are so basic, so perfect for keeping my notes in one place. I received one at work and as I made entry after entry it became my office “bible”. All my notes, all my learnings filled it over the year. Then, another, and another. Then I was looking for something a little more… well, a little more.

So I started looking at Pinterest for ideas. I love Pinterest. A whole world of ideas in images! Love it. Anyway, I digress. I saw all these amazing posts of how people had transformed their Moleskine into planners and lifelines. Art Journals they were called. But I am terrible at drawing. So my search went on and my Pinterest board grew. Then I started to see more and more Filofax followers and found I was quickly falling in love. The colors, the creativity, the unique approach to planning your day. Washi tape, colored pens (oh how I love pens!!), post-it notes in fun shapes, having your “dashboard” (whatever that was) and creating your very own printables! Yah I was/am hooked.

Now which one to get? Malden? Original? Metrpol? And then what size – personal, A5? After many hours of research and decision making and YouTube watching…here is my awesome RETRO YELLOW A5 ORIGINAL FILOFAX!!

Happy Hanukkah FF Screen Shot 2013-12-14 at 1.03.56 PM

Beautiful isn’t it?  My Mother In Law and wonderful Hub-ster got it for me. Once I get it all set up I will share another post.Meanwhile… Happy Filofax n’

6 thoughts on “Getting Organized

  1. Welcome to the world of Filofax. I too recently found my way into this wonderful world of organization when I bought an A5 Malden in Aqua. What are your plans for your planner?

  2. Hi! Thank you for being my very first comment/reader! I love the Malden as well – it was a very tough choice but I think that will be my next purchase. I really don’t know what my plans are yet. Maybe that’s why I’m having so much trouble getting started. Definitely want to use it for work but I would like it to a bit more of a well rounded planner. What about you?

  3. I can’t believe I am just now seeing this response to my comment. As of right now I am using my Filofax as a place for me to schedule appointments, homework, due dates, and weekly weigh ins. I also have sheets in my Filofax to write lists, but I am finding I don’t have enough room. I guess you could say my Filofax is a catch all.

Leave a Reply

